Mix & Match

When it comes to collecting art and antiques, the rule has always been “buy what you love.” And when it comes to mixing antiques with contemporary art, the rule is… there are no rules. So go ahead: buy what you love and mix it up.

Colonial Americana + Photo Surrealism

ANTIQUES American pine drop-leaf dining table, c. 1800-1840, New England, $700. Colonial period seating, c. 1740-1760, probably Massachusetts, $800 each. Pottery, c. 1840-1860: redware covered crock, $145; yellow ware pitcher, $125; custard cups, $95/set. All available at Starr Antiques, Denver, starrantiques.com. ART Corvo Brothers, Enfant Terrible, 2008, archival print, 88 x 36. Walker Fine Art, Denver, walkerfineart.com. Terry Maker, Nothing, cast resin suitcase, 17 1/4 x 14 x 5 3/4, $2,400. Robischon Gallery, Denver, robischongallery.com.

French Empire + Abstract Expressionism

ANTIQUES Pair of French bergere chairs, c. 1890, $3,900. French wall-mount console table with marble top, 19th century, $2,300. Pair of Italian mirrors, late 19th century, $2,400. All available at Black Tulip, Denver, blacktulipantiques.net. GLASS ART Philip Baldwin and Monica Guggisberg, Quiltwork Amber (vase), $11,600. Joshua Hershman, Dialog Group C (7-piece group), $900. Available at Pismo Contemporary Art Glass, Denver, pismoglass.com. ART Lorelei Schott, Crime Against Nature Exhibit A and Crime Against Nature Exhibit B, 2010, mixed media on paper, 36 x 24, $1,500 each (unframed). Available at Sandra Phillips Gallery, Denver, thesandraphillipsgallery.com. RUG Joaquim Ruize Millet, Manuscrit Rug, 2003, $3,400. Available at Design Within Reach, Denver, dwr.com.

17th Century European + Urban Contemporary

ANTIQUES English Jacobean chest of drawers, c. 1680, $7,250. Pair of Italian Baroque walnut and leather chairs, c. 1670, $4,950. Spanish-style, wrought iron six-light chandelier, c. 1920, $2,950. All available at Eron Johnson Antiques, Denver, eronjohnsonantiques.com. ART Monroe Hodder, Carmen Acts I & II, oil on canvas, 40 x 36, $5,500. Phillip Maberry and Scott Walker, Big Grin, ceramic, 24 x 18 x 11, $7,500. Available at William Havu Gallery, Denver, williamhavugallery.com. RUG Sahar, Iran, 7.9 x 10.4, $7,900. Available at Shaver-Ramsey, Denver, shaver-ramsey.com.

Scandinavian + Graphic Art

ANTIQUES Swedish painted maid’s bench, c. 1800, $2,885. Danish pine coffee table, c. 1900, $925. Swedish pine mora clock, c. 1800, $2,685. Danish crystal chandelier, c. 1900, $925. All available at Scandinavian Antiques, Denver, scandinavianantiques.com. ART Hunt Rettig, Untitled, 2008, polyester film, acrylic and staples, 40 x 32. Avilable at Plus Gallery, Denver, plusgallery.com. Tyler Aiello, Sphere 74, hand-forged steel with patina, 23 inches, $3,500. Available at Space Gallery, Denver, spacegallery.org. RUG Pershawar, Afghanistan, 7 x 9, $2,750. Available at Azari Rug Gallery, Denver, azari-rug.com. PILLOWS Velvet Ikat, Uzbekistan, $320 each, Shaver-Ramsey, Denver, shaver-ramsey.com.

Categories: Art, Art And Antiques, Arts And Culture, Contemporary Art, Designer Tips, Furniture & Accessories, Get The Look, Shopping And Decor