A Place to Grow

Photographer: 
J Curtis
Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Pinterest icon


In the design world, it’s called The Domino Effect. You buy a home with the intention of changing just a few details. That turns into remodeling a few rooms and incorporating a small addition. Before you know it, the home is stripped to the studs and ready for a major do-over.

That’s precisely what happened with Chris Bittman and Kenda Noble, who purchased their Denver home in order to put down roots and raise five children. But to say they embarked upon a complete renovation is an understatement. With the help of San Francisco-based architect Kurt Lavenson (who helped them renovate two previous homes), the couple nearly doubled the size of of their 1970s home with additions and a basement expansion.

 

 

 

 

 

INTERIOR DESIGN Kerri Cole, DeSiGn, LLC, Denver, (303) 909-9689 ARCHITECTURE Kurt Lavenson, AIA, Lavenson Design, Oakland, CA, (510) 530-0970, lavensondesign.com GENERAL CONTRACTOR Spencer Wolf and Steve Diamond, Diamond Homes, Englewood, (303) 78-4451, diamondhomesinc.com LIVING ROOM SIDE CHAIRS Divenchy Lounge Chair by Nancy Corzine, Sloan Miyasato, San Francisco, CA, (415) 431-1465, nancycorzine.com ANTIQUE ASH TABLE (Between chairs) Charles X, circa 1820 France, purchased from Habité, San Francisco (now in Los Angeles), CA, (323) 692-0023, habitela.com PAKISTANI RUG Made in Agra, Pakistan, available through Alexander’s Rugs, San Francisco, CA, (415) 626-8430, alexandersrugs.com ANTIQUE MARBLE-TOP TABLE (At end of couch with lamp on top) France circa 1920, purchased from Heather & Company, San Francisco, CA, (415) 551-0011, heatherandcompanyantiques.com SOFA McRae-Hinckley (no longer in business), San Francisco Design Center; upholstered in Dedar from Kneedler-Fauchere COFFEE TABLE (With inlays from Tuscany) Tavolo Urbino Firenze by Collezione Vere Antichita, available through JBS Associates (no longer in buseinss), San Francisco Design Center STONE FIREPLACE SURROUND Michelangelo by Mother Nature, Colorado Stone Professionals, Englewood, CO, (303) 789-0662, coloradostoneprofessionals.com DRAPES Delaford Silk Strip/Tuscan by Schumacher, Denver, (303) 733-2591, fschumacher.com VENETIAN PLASTER WALLS Alex Baun, baunlifestyle@yahoo.com BALLROOM HAND-SCRAPED WALNUT FLOORING Rock Solid Hardwoods, Denver, (303) 572-1234, rocksolidhardwoods.com CHANDELIERS Buckingham by Laura Lee Design, JJS Lighting, Burbank, CA, (818) 842-5300, lauraleedesign.com WALL SCONCES Dorchester Picture Light by Visual Comfort, JJ&S Lighting, Denver, (303) 777-1007, jjslighting.com BUFFALO PAINTING ABOVE MANTLE Rebecca Schmeits, Castle Rock, (303) 660-1238 NAVY SOFA Available through Moda Antica, upholstered in Sabtini Chenille/Azul Real by Gaston Y Daniela for Brunschwig Fils, Denver, (303) 733-8484 COCKTAIL TABLE Oval Regency by Ebanista, Denver, (303) 282-1690, ebanista.com ANTIQUE ENGLISH SATINWOOD SETTEE Circa 1900, purchased from Royal Antiques in New Orleans, (504) 524-7033, royalantiques.com RUG Available through Floor Coverings by CPA, Denver, (303) 722-4700, cpacarpets.com ANTIQUE BIEDERMEIER STYLE CHAIR Hamburg, circa 1890, Scandinavian Antiques, Denver, (303) 722-2541, scandinavianantiques.com DINING ROOM/LIBRARY RUG Made in Sultanabad Pakistan, Soraya Rugs, San Francisco, CA, (415) 399-9457 DINING TABLE Antique mahogany ball and claw table made by homeowner’s great grandfather, circa 1900 DINING CHAIRS Mahogany, purchased in San Francisco in 1990s, origin unknown CABINETRY Aspen Leaf Kitchens, Ltd., Berthoud, (970) 593-1950, alkl.com FAMILY ROOM CREAM SOFA Available through Moda Antica, Denver, (303) 733-9003, moda-antica.clvr.tv CONSOLE BEHIND COUCH Antique 1920s Spanish Revival console, Revival Antiques, Pasadena, CA, (626) 405-0024, revivalantiques.com COFFEE TABLE By Elijah Slocum, available through Sloan Miyasato, San Francisco, CA, (415) 431-1465, elijahslocum.com DRAPES Bambu Volante Sun/Tan by Lee Jofa, Denver, (303) 733-3470, leejofa.com SISAL RUG Synergy Floor Covering, Denver, (303) 772-7161, synergyfloor.com ORANGE ARTWORK ON WALL Miani Carnevale, Walker Fine Art, Denver, (303) 355-8955, walkerfineart.com FRAMED ARTWORK ABOVE FIREPLACE Original engravings by Sieur de Neufforge, circa 1768 SIDE CHAIR Nancy Corzine, Sloan Miyasato, San Francisco, CA, (415) 431-1465, nancycorzine.com DINING AREA NEAR KITCHEN DINING TABLE & CHAIRS Colorado Style, Highlands Ranch, (303) 741-4240, coloradostyle.com CABINET Antique Tibetan cabinet, circa 1890 PENDANT LIGHTS Visual Comfort, Bellacor, Highlands Ranch, (877) 723-5522, visualcomfort.com MAIN KITCHEN RANGE Chassagne Classic Range by LaCanche, Art Culinaire, Woodinville, WA, (800) 570-2433, frenchranges.com REFRIGERATOR Model 700 TCI and 700 TR by Sub-Zero, Specialty Appliance, Greenwood Village, (303) 790-9349, specialtyappliance.com LEADED GLASS PANELS Custom made by Bella Glass Studios, Zach Abote (zach@bellaglassstudios.com), Denver, (303) 462-4221, bellaglassstudios.com ISLAND Manufactured by Golden Cabinets & Design / Jay Minors, Golden, (303) 279-1925 RED CABINETRY Aspen Leaf Kitchens, Ltd., Berthoud, (970) 593-1950, alkl.com BARSTOOLS High Stool by Thos. Moser, Auburn, ME, (800) 862-1973, thosmoser.com STAINLESS RANGE HOOD Vent-A-Hood with brass bands, Specialty Appliance, Greenwood Village, (303) 790-9349, specialtyappliance.com SOAPSTONE SINK Vermont Soapstone, Perkinsville, VT, (800) 284-5404, vermontsoapstone.com BACKSPLASH Carrara marble, hone 2” by 4” bricks, product # MB1130-BRICHO, Decorative Materials, Denver, (303) 722-1333, decorativematerials.com COUNTERTOPS Antiqued Carrara white marble, Colorado Stone Professionals, Englewood, (303) 789-0662, coloradostoneprofessionals.com MASTER BATHROOM FLOORING 3/4” thick reclaimed stone from Italy, Decorative Materials, Denver, (303) 722-1333, decorativematerials.com TUB SURROUND & SHOWER WALLS Jerusalem Gold mosaic stone, Decorative Materials, Denver, (303) 722-1333, decorativematerials.com TROUGH SINK Sonoma Cast Stone, Euro Bath & Tile, Denver, (303) 298-8453, sonomastone.com CABINETRY Aspen Leaf Kitchens, Ltd., Berthoud, (970) 593-1950, alkl.com LIGHTING Hudson Valley Lighting, CSN Stores, Newburgh, NY, (303) 722-1333, hudsonvalleylighting.com TUB Amma 7242 by BainUltra, Ultra Design Center, Denver, (303) 571-5611, ultradesigncenter.com RUG Floor Coverings by CPA, Denver, (303) 722-4700, cpacarpets.com BENCH SEAT UPHOLSTERY Model Brescia Asti by Osborne & Little, The Shanahan Collection, Denver, (303) 778-7088, osborneandlittle.com HEADBOARD Century Designer Showroom, Denver, (303) 282-5000, centuryfurniture.com; upholstered in Akari Silk, available through Moda Antica, Denver, (303) 733-9003, moda-antica.clvr.tv RUST/CREAM ARTWORK TO LEFT OF BED By artist Fran Bull, Walker Fine Art, Denver, (303) 355-8955, walkerfineart.com SIDE TABLES Flemish Side Table and Knightsbridge Drum Table, Century Furniture, Denver, (303) 282-5000, centuryfurniture.com SIDE TABLE LAMPS Crane Table Lamp by Hwang Bishop, The Shanahan Collection, Denver, (303) 778-7088, hwangbishop.net RUG Floor Coverings by CPA, Denver, (303) 722-4700, cpacarpets.com WINE CELLAR FLOORING Natural cork flooring by DuroDesign, Rock Solid Hardwoods, Denver, (303) 572-1234, rocksolidhardwoods.com DOORS The Grand Entrance, Denver, no longer in business LEADED GLASS PANELS Custom made by Bella Glass Studios, Zach Abote (zach@bellaglassstudios.com), Denver, (303) 462-4221, bellaglassstudios.com REDWOOD WINE RACKS Wine Cellars & Storage of Colorado, Parker, (303) 841-8989, wine-cellars.org KITCHEN ON LOWER LEVEL COUNTERTOP Durango Travertine, Colorado Stone Professionals, Englewood, (303) 789-0662, coloradostoneprofessionals.com BACKSPLASH 4x4 Deco Mediterranean in blue and cream, Decorative Materials, Denver, (303) 722-1333, decorativematerials.com CARAMEL COLORED CABINETRY Aspen Leaf Kitchens, Ltd., Berthoud, (970) 593-1950, alkl.com RANGE HOOD Model # PRH9-230 by Vent-A-Hood, Specialty Appliance, Greenwood Village, (303) 790-9349, specialtyappliance.com RANGE Model # DF304 by Wolf, Specialty Appliance, Greenwood Village, (303) 790-9349, specialtyappliance.com REFRIGERATOR Model 736 TC by Sub-Zero, Specialty Appliance, Greenwood Village, (303) 790-9349, specialtyappliance.com POWDER ROOM TILE FLOOR Handpainted Terra Cotta Tile by Tabarka Studio, Decorative Materials, Denver, (303) 722-1333, decorativematerials.com PEDESTAL SINK Maestro Baja Vessel Sink by Native Trails, Exquisite Kitchen Design, Denver, (303) 282-0382, myekdesign.com SINK STAND Iron Washbasin Stand by Stone Forest, Decorative Materials, Denver, (303) 722-1333, decorativematerials.com SCONCES Luxe Single Scone by Laura Lee Design, JJ&S Lighting, Denver, (303) 777-1007, jjslighting.com MIRROR Client’s personal collection

 

 

 

 

 

Start the Conversation

Premier Resources